This is my first time being involved in getting car inspection (revisado) and car license plates (placa) for our vehicle. I learned there are various stations in David for car inspections (most work Monday - Friday only and charge $15 to $17. One station soon in Boquete located across from Banco Nacional.) Now open?

The revisado is valid for 5 calendar days from the the day it is issued. Since our inspection in David was last Saturday, it was already day 3 when we paid a bit less than $40 to the tesoraria and walked away with new license plates. Always the same numbers on the plates year after year of new issues.

Transactions must be done in person yearly. If you miss this 5 day window, the inspection must be repeated plus re-payment of course.

Failure to complete this process each year (during the same month car was purchased and not before or after this one month opening) nets a fine for the car owner.

Hope this may be useful to folks new to the area.

Marcelyn,

The Revisado inspection certificate you receive is valid until the end of the due month in the following year.

For example, if the vehicle's renewal month is November, the Revisado obtained in November 2015 will be 'vigente' or valid until November 30th, 2016.

The annual fee for the Plate would be due by November 30th to the Municipality where the vehicle is registered.

Cost of Plates vary depending on the number of passengers the car is rated for and/or whether it's a truck or motorcycle. Current range is from $31 to $47.

Taller QuickFix across from Plaza Los Establos now provides the 'inspection' service, saving a trip to David.

There is no five day window anywhere in the process and third parties can do any of these steps.

Edited by Keith Woolford
  • Like 1
  • Upvote 1

Keith,