Observations About the Use Of and Withdrawal From Social Media

• Moderators

Background: I have been surprised at how strong the negative reaction has been about online privacy issues based on recent disclosures of “nefarious deeds” by social media platforms, e.g., Twitter, Instagram, and especially Facebook, etc. Because we administer a website that is a social media platform (CL) some people have asked me about my opinion on these disclosures, many have expressed their opinions (thank you), and some have asked me how to protect themselves or how to withdraw so as to have their private information less exposed, etc. A few have talked about this with me because they view me as an expert. For the record, I am not an expert, but rather just someone wishing to help our community be a better place through the sharing of (hopefully accurate, timely, and non-confrontational) information.

Neither Marcelyn nor I are users of most of the large social media platforms, with a few exceptions. For instance, I only recently opened a Twitter account, more out of curiosity, but was surprised to find that there is some good information about what is happening in this geographic area. I have posted less than ten Tweets, and most of those were testing the waters as to how things work on that platform.

Facebook is another social medium that has been a big disappointment to us. We tested Facebook about the same time that we brought CL online (late 2015) thinking it might help promote awareness of CL. That was a mistake even though we engaged some high quality (read expensive) professional resources to guide us.. To us, Facebook is basically a dart board where people toss tidbits of “stuff” without any structure that could help organize and facilitate future access/research. I am not saying there is no value in Facebook. A platform with literally a billion plus users is doing something right and that is viewed as valuable. I am only saying that Facebook doesn’t help us in our journey.