We have two Internet service providers at our home. My configuration choice is to use CableOnda as primary and MobilNet as backup. I've been pretty happy with both service providers, and am comforted to have access redundancy because "stuff" happens. When the primary access has a problem it is nice, sometimes critical, to be able to keep business matters moving forward (including administration of this website) with the backup service filling in. And more often than not when we are watching NetFliix in the evenings I have to manually switch the gateway router to MobilNet because CableOnda just can't handle the bandwidth needs.

I recently received an email from MobilNet that their company has been bought by CableOnda. I had no hint such a change was in the offing. Right now the transition has not been completed, and so I have no experience with MobilNet under CableOnda management. Time will tell. However, to my way of thinking redundancy isn't fully achieved if the same management is over both service providers. Granted that the underlying technologies are different (broadband cable distribution with shared bandwidth versus microwave radio links to dedicated access receivers), but soon the same management policies and procedures will begin to show their faces. Billing appears to be the first department that is being integrated, which is not a surprise to me.

I am now considering the advisability of and options for replacing one of the two. Planet Telecom is looking more interesting and attractive as the alternative. And then I have decide which service to drop. That won't be easy.

It is amazing how Internet dependent we have become. Change marches on.