World's Largest (?) Solar Electric Generating Plant Inaugurated in Bugaba

With the goal of combating climate change and generating clean energy, the largest photovoltaic plant in the world, with a total of 8 thousand solar panels, was opened in the district of Bugaba, in the province of Chiriqui.

http://www.telemetro.com/nacionales/Inauguran-Chiriqui-central-fotovoltaica-grande_3_997430302.html

I believe the headline is a bit misleading. The Bugaba project was said to have a capacity of 9 megawatts, which is probably about one-fiftieth the capacity of the largest world solar generating facilites, which are in places like China, the USA, and India. They  headline must be based on some other specification of the project than the one that really matters, IMO.

Well, I'm no expert, but my reading of the sub-headline suggests that they are using the new micro-inverter technology, where each panel has its own inverter. If that is the case, and the technology confirms its advantages, I wouldn't expect this project to maintain its "biggest" adjective for very long.

Most modern panels range between 200 and 300 watts.  My micro inverter system in Ontario had 40 panels for a total of 10 kilowatts.  Efficiency is usually around 20-40%, depending on location.  While prices have come down drastically in the last few years, it is still a large up front investement.  Right now, I still dont think they can compete with hydro or nuclear, but that could change.

• Upvote 1

I am hoping that, with more and more countries putting solar to use, the price will become cost efficient.  I think a combination of solar and wind turbines here in Panama would be the best solution.  The solar electric town in Florida (whose name escapes me) is a combo solar and gas installation.

• 4 months later...
  • Moderators

Panama’s Social Security Fund seeks to invest in solar

8-1200x675.jpg