Someone asked about Dr. Anguizola at Ning, but I decided to cross-post my response here.  Hopefully, this will be useful to those who do not have medical insurance here in Panama. 

Dr. Anguizola's office is at Mae Lewis Hospital.  He became my cardiologist when I was admitted to Regional Hospital in David on February 23 of this year.  He is now my regular cardiologist.  I have great respect for Dr. Anguizola - I think he is an excellent cardiologist.  His office phone number is 774-2453 - but his staff speaks only Spanish. 

---------

For those who are interested in my experience related to my mild heart attack in February of this year, here is my story...

I am a 74 y/o expat who moved here from Sonoma County in Northern California in early 2012.  I am a permanent legal resident of Panama, and have an E-Cedula (Panama's national ID card for non-citizen foreigners).  I have have no medical insurance in Panama.  My Medicare Supplement plan includes a $2,500 deductible, and I would have to go to Florida or elsewhere in the U.S. to use it.

I suffered a mild heart attack on February while carrying my stuff in to the BCP Center for the Tuesday Morning Market.  I became weak and dizzy, so I took everything back out to my car, and drove to Dr. Chen's office.  Dr. Gomez quickly had me lie down on the patient bed, ran an EKG, determined that I was having a cardiac "ischemic event"  - reduced blood flow to the heart muscles.  That visit cost $120.  Dr.Gomez called the 911 ambulance (my choice - minimal equipment, but a free ride).  They arrived soon, took me to the Regional Hospital in David.  (A better-equipped private ambulance would cost $250.)

After another EKG in the "coronaria" (coronary emergency unit), it was determined that my condition was not that serious, so I was on a bed in the very crowded coronary emergency area for about 12 hours.  (A new, bigger hospital is being built on the property, which will be a big help with the capacity problem.)